Skip to main content

Top language, translation, marketing and networking tweets: April 2014

Image credit
Hi everybody! How've you been? It's high time I shared some interesting, useful and fun tweets with you about translation, languages, marketing and networking. All these tweets were published in April and according to Topsy.com they got the most shares, retweets and replies. I had a great time while looking through those links, reading the articles that I missed because it's simply impossible to see everything on Twitter! I hope these links will be as useful for you as they were for me. As usual, you can see the names and Twitter usernames of all people who shared them, as well as hashtags they used. So you can follow these great twitterers and/or type the same hashtag in Twitter and look for more cool tweets on the same topics!

Language tweets:

Alyssa Milano @alyssa_milano
These 9 Words Don't Mean What You Think They Mean. j.mp/OLPFpm #language /via @matthiasrascher 

Medical Xpress @medical_xpress
Touch influences how infants learn #language medx.cc/317454918 @LifeAtPurdue 

Oxford Dictionaries @oxfordwords
Can a word really be untranslatable? oxford.ly/1hlgE84 #translation #language 

hyperlingo @hyperlingo
Learning A #Language Is For Life, Not Just For Business hypl.in/1jV2lpw 

Max Planck Society @maxplanckpress
RT@nytimes The #language is, like, totally not degrading nyti.ms/1kiPAbA 

Rosetta Stone @rosettastone
What is a foreign #language worth? About $67,000 by the time you retire! econ.st/1jLRm2r via @TheEconomist 

hyperlingo @hyperlingo
Moral Judgment Influenced by What #Language You Speak hypl.in/1kaqQOb 

Rosetta Stone @rosettastone
Will #French be the world’s most-spoken #language by 2050? f24.my/1jaiYxJ 

Matador @matadornetwork
Traveling to #Italy soon? 10 extraordinarily useful Italian phrases: bit.ly/1euOlzy #language #travelstoke pic.twitter.com/DHUhWokNz1 

Language Svc Corps @nlsc
When Not to Speak Your Second Language to Your Children parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/04/14/whe… #language 

GuardianTeach @guardianteach
"Learning a #language in primary is great, but teachers need proper training first" gu.com/p/3z55f/tw via @guardian #mfl 

Maital Rozenboim @memer
Multilingual people have multiple personalities, according to Noam Scheiber #language Interesting article: goo.gl/uISvoh 

Max Planck Society @maxplanckpress
The best way to learn a foreign #language? Don't focus on the language! onforb.es/1nsldzT via @forbes h/t @DAADnewyork

Translation tweets:

Catherine Christaki @linguagreca
Cheat sheet: Twitter hashtags for translators ow.ly/vUTey by @LingoIO #xl8 

Jayne Fox @jaynefox
"A good film poorly translated becomes a mediocre film. Don’t allow our films to be translated on the cheap." hollywoodreporter.com/news/roman-pol… #xl8 

Emma Goldsmith @goldsmithtrans
Just discovered a new #xl8 blog: Tina and Mouse. A Minimalist Comic on Translation. Great fun! ow.ly/w6MBq 

Judy Jenner @language_news
#xl8 business insight of the day: Don't just tell clients: "No, I'm not available." Offer solutions. Refer a colleague. Go the extra mile. 

Emma Goldsmith @goldsmithtrans
A look at the New Features in #Studio2014 SP1: the good and the bad ow.ly/wjGVM #xl8 

Catherine Christaki @linguagreca
12 time (and therefore money)-saving tips for home-based freelance translators ow.ly/vtL49 by @Claire_Cox16 #xl8 

SDL Trados @sdltrados
MyMemory for Studio 2014 is now on the OpenExchange! Access the world’s largest translation memory for free! ow.ly/vANl4 #xl8 

Catherine Christaki @linguagreca
Freebies for Freelance Translation Professionals ow.ly/vQI9T by @NYAcomm >Great e-books #xl8 

Alessandra Vita @avinterpreter
What are the main differences between translators and interpreters? via @Scheherezade_SL #xl8 #1nt pic.twitter.com/gWzvLRacvT 

Jayne Fox @jaynefox
Here's my new blog post on CPD – all about webinars for translators. foxdocs.biz/BetweenTransla… #xl8 #xl8cpd pic.twitter.com/bCrlqA2NuB 

John Evans @evansjohn75
A day in the life of an English translator at the European Commission's Directorate-General for Translation ow.ly/weKmW #xl8 

Nikki Graham @nikki_graham
Useful Links tranix-translations.blogspot.com/p/useful-links… over 80 links which might be especially interesting to ES-EN translators & vice versa #xl8 #t9n 

Oxford Dictionaries @oxfordwords
Can a word really be untranslatable? oxford.ly/1hlgE84 #translation #language 

Localization News @l10ntweets
Does U.S. Spanish Exist? bit.ly/1jRAerh #translation 

Susan Buchanan @susan_buchanan
How hard is it to translate a piece of work? My article on Janet Emson's blog bit.ly/NNwDhV #translation #authors 

Rina Ne'eman @rinaneeman
Fun for translators - Why Germans Don't Play Scrabble. This one is for @Jeromobot. #translation #xl8 pic.twitter.com/I2QxTbCQBt

Marketing and networking tweets:

Guy Kawasaki @guykawasaki
Online #marketing tips that won't break the bank ow.ly/vOy1w #marketingtips 

Jeff Bullas @jeffbullas
7 Ways To Get More Engagement Out of Your Photos on Facebook bit.ly/13jCQ8a #socialmedia #smm #marketing 

Jeff Bullas @jeffbullas
6 Ways to Expand Your Social Media Reach ow.ly/jmke7 #socialmedia #marketing 

Jeff Bullas @jeffbullas
10 Top Google Plus Tools for Digital Marketers ow.ly/oBCOl #googleplus #marketing #socialmedia 

Jeff Bullas @jeffbullas
15 Steps for Creating a Successful #SocialMedia Giveaway Contest ow.ly/g39rU #Marketing #SMM 

Marsha Collier @marshacollier
The ideal length of a #Facebook post is less than 40 characters bit.ly/QBNDK6 #marketing pic.twitter.com/caBwraNphd 

Reg Saddler @zaibatsu
6 Online #Marketing Metrics You Need to Know ow.ly/3jJpQu pic.twitter.com/5kavUzuR2J 

Bored Panda @boredpanda
30 Of The Most Creative Business Cards Ever (48 pics): boredpanda.com/creative-busin… #networking #business #design pic.twitter.com/omSqJKEIMZ 

Harvey Mackay @harveymackay
You don't have to know everything as long as you know the people who do. #business #networking 

Max Martinez @maxmartinez
#Networking isn't about the amount of ppl you know, but instead how well you know them. You don't build a #startup out of business cards
 

Inc. @inc
Is in-person #networking becoming a lost art? bit.ly/1jwQFcv @weisul

As for the highlights of this month, don't forget to check out the #bp14conf hashtag for lots of cool tweets from the Freelance Translators Conference in Budapest that took place just a few days ago! I loved the translators' Oscars selfie :-) More about the conference and its tweets in my next Top Tweets post!

Olga Arakelyan
Your Professional Translator

Like this post? Share the love!

Popular posts from this blog

10 worst mistakes I made as a freelancer

"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm."
Sir Winston Churchill If Sir Winston Churchill was right, then I should be very successful. We all make tons of mistakes. And I am not an exception. My mistakes nowadays may not be as big as they were at the beginning of my freelance career, but I still make them and do my best to learn from them. I also watch others make mistakes and I do my best to learn from them, too.

So here's the list of major mistakes in freelance business I made since 2007. Hope it helps other colleagues to learn and grow. And you are welcome to share the mistakes you made, so we can all learn from one another!

10 interesting facts about the Russian language

In my previous post I promised to follow with the  interesting info about some other languages. So here are 10 facts about the Russian language which might be of interest to those who are studying it. If you would like to have this list in Russian, please contact me and I will send it to you by email. So, what do I find interesting about my native language?

1. Russian has about 500,000 words, but only 2,000-2,500 of them are used frequently. 100 most frequently used words make 20% of all written and oral speech. A high school graduate's vocabulary usually has 1,500 to 4,000 words. Those who have graduated from a higher educational institution normally have a richer vocabulary consisting of approximately 8,000 words.
2. It's compulsory for all astronauts in the international space station to learn Russian, so we can call it an international language of space :)

Time for another update about guest posts, business, blogging and more!

Hi everybody! First of all, thank you for reading my blog. I love to see that the number of my subscribers is growing every week. That's so inspiring!
I've got some news for you. I am amazed with the way my work and business are developing. Life is getting more and more interesting and, hopefully, these changes will be good for you, too! So, here are my news: